Foods That You Can Eat On Gluten-Free Diet

Foods That You Can Eat On Gluten-Free Diet

The latest and most popular health buzz that many people are following is eating gluten-free food. This seems to bring many health benefits to mind and body especially for people suffering from gluten tolerance. It is the most cost-effective and safe diet that people can follow.

Gluten is actually a protein which is naturally present in many types of grains such as rye, wheat, and barley. Its main role is to provide the optimal level of elasticity and moisture to the body. For many people, gluten works perfectly well but there are some people who suffer from gluten intolerance. So, it becomes highly important for those people to cut-out the quantity of gluten from their food.

Usually, people with this condition, prefer to eat gluten-free pasta with gluten-free pasta sauce. Here is the list of foods that you can consume on your gluten-free diet.

  1. Whole Grains

There are many different types of whole grains that are naturally gluten-free. The main gluten-free whole grains are quinoa, brown rice, buckwheat, sorghum, millet, teff, oats, and arrowroot.

While buying all these gluten-free foods from the market make sure to double check the labels. In some cases, even gluten-free food also comes with a slight contamination of gluten.

The whole grains that you should avoid are all varieties of wheat such as wheat berries, bulgur, farro, durum, spelt, and Kamut.

  1. Fruits and Vegetables

Many fruits and vegetable also naturally come in the gluten-free form. The top gluten-free fruits are bananas, apples, berries, pears, peaches, orange, and grapefruit.

List of gluten free vegetables includes cauliflower, broccoli, spinach, kale, potatoes, corn, bell peppers, mushrooms, green beans, radishes, and carrots.

But make sure to buy only unprocessed and organically grown fruits and vegetables. This is because many processed foods contain gluten-containing ingredients such as modified food starch and molt.

  1. Proteins

Many animal based and plant-based foods contain a good amount of protein. Even there are some gluten-containing ingredients that many people use regularly such as soy sauce, flour, and malt vinegar.

But there are also some rich protein sources that are naturally gluten-free. These include legumes, fresh chicken, turkey, fresh beef, pork, lamb, fish, shellfish, tofu, tempeh, and all nuts and seeds.

But make sure to double check the processed meat, ground meats, and ready-to-eat protein sources.

  1. Dairy Products

Most of the dairy products naturally come in gluten-free form except some processed dairy products. Gluten free dairy products that you can eat safely include milk, butter, ghee, cream, yogurt, cheese, and sour cream.

However, there are some ingredients which are added to dairy products such as thickeners and malt that contains gluten.

There are some dairy products that you should avoid on a gluten-free diet. Those products are ice creams, processed cheese sauce, cheese spread, flavored milk, and flavored yogurt.

  1. Fats and Oils

In most of the cases, all different kinds of fats and oils are gluten-free. But some manufacturers and oil producers mix additives in oils and fats for thickening purpose. Thus, it is important to make sure that you are eating completely natural oils and fats.

You can consume olive oil, coconut oil, avocado oil, seed oil, sesame oil, and canola oil as well but in the moderation only.

On The Ending Note

While adding all these above-mentioned foods in your recipes, make sure that you double check all those little ingredients as well. Sometimes, the ingredients and spices we use in recipes also contain gluten. Plus, choose only high-quality products such as Italian gluten-free pasta. Even make sure to use only gluten free pasta sauce as well.